It’s a beautiful day

IMG_1427

“It’s a beautiful day in this neighborhood…. I’ve always wanted to have a neighbor just like you. I’ve always wanted to live in a neighborhood with you.”  ©Fred Rogers 1967

I thought of that first line as I looked out on the early Sunday morning sun from our back porch. I knew it was from Mr. Rogers but I had to go look up the full lyrics. I guess I never listened carefully after that first line, but the rest of the lyrics struck me. “I’ve always wanted to have a neighbor just like you. I’ve always wanted to live in a neighborhood with you.” Just seems to fit. Saturday afternoon, Charlene & I took the three hounds for a walk. That’s an adventure in itself. We first met “Ready Freddy” working on the porch of a pretty run down house that he had just rented from a relative. He was slow to open up, but didn’t want us to leave after the conversation flowed. Hopefully he’ll join us for lunch at the church on Tuesday. He was blunt with one question. “I’ve seen your new house.  Why did you move into this neighborhood?” I didn’t try for a long answer.  The words that came out were, “Because we love people.”

We then stopped in to visit two of the elderly shut-ins that Charlene delivers lunch to each Tuesday.  They welcome Charlene like she’s been in their families forever.  One asked her to pray for a specific need.  She stayed with the second one an hour or more to listen to life stories. (I had to take the hounds home!)

No dramatic epiphany today.  Just a story about an ordinary Saturday in our neighborhood, and it feels really good.
__________
(I apologize if there is a questionable ad below. Please ignore & forgive me. I really don’t want to pay $30 to block them but might have to.)

2 thoughts on “It’s a beautiful day

  1. I know your neighbors are as excited to have a good caring, neighbor as much as you are excited to get to know them and hear their stories.

Leave a Reply

